Company not following NJ bag ban? How to report violations

0

There was an 18-month heads-up. But compliance with New Jersey’s ban on single-use plastic bags — and paper bags in many cases — may not be 100 percent.

So if you care enough, New Jersey offers several ways for residents to report a clear corporate violation of the law.

“I think right now we’re still in the category of getting the word out,” said Doug O’Malley, director of Environment New Jersey. “Ideally every business owner knew this was coming. If they didn’t, now is the time to make the transition.”

O’Malley advises residents “if you see something, say something” to the business owner. Actual reports of violations can be made in two ways:

NJDEP page: Go beyond plastic

“We are focused on education and compliance assistance during this transition,” said JoAnn Gemenden, executive director of the NJ Clean Communities Council, one of the groups responsible for raising awareness of the ban. “The law took this into account and incorporated a warning to first-time offenders.”

But second-time offenders could face a fine of up to $1,000. Subsequent violations could result in fines of up to $5,000, for each day an entity remains non-compliant.

Dino Flammia is a reporter for New Jersey 101.5. You can reach him at [email protected]

Click here to contact an editor about a comment or correction for this story.

9 things New Jersey would rather ban than plastic bags

Netflix’s Most Popular TV Shows

These are the most popular TV shows ever to air on Netflix, based on hours watched during their first 28 days on air.

Share.

Comments are closed.