US State Department exempts F-1 and M-1 students from certain COVID-19 travel bans | Morgan lewis


The US State Department announced on February 10 that students with valid F-1 and M-1 visas who wish to be admitted to the United States from countries in the Schengen area, the United Kingdom and the Ireland no longer need to request a national interest exception. (NIE) to enter the United States. These travelers will automatically be able to enter the United States under a general NIE, without the need to obtain prior authorization from a United States consular post.

Presidential Proclamations 10143, 9984, 9992, 9993, 9996 and 10041, which remain in effect, require most foreign travelers to obtain an NIE to enter the United States if they wish to be admitted to the list of countries included in the COVID-19- associated travel bans.

F-1 and M-1 students wishing to travel from Schengen area countries, the United Kingdom and Ireland who not you still need a valid visa to get one from a US consular post. These individuals, however, will automatically be granted an NIE by the US consular post which decides on their application, and will be issued a visa as long as they meet all other eligibility criteria for the F-1 or M- classification. 1. Subsequently, they will be allowed to enter the United States under the general NIE when their visa is issued.

J-1 students with a valid visa and those requiring a J-1 visa are not covered by the new exemption. These people should always apply for and obtain an NIE from a US consular post before traveling to the United States.

The proclamations referenced above currently restrict travel from the following countries: South Africa, China, Iran, Brazil, Ireland, United Kingdom (including England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland of the North and the Republic of Ireland) and the Schengen area. For the purposes of the exemption, the Schengen area includes the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta , Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. Bulgaria, Croatia and Cyprus are not part of the Schengen area and therefore were not subject to the travel restriction.

[View source.]


Leave A Reply